Californication Season Two Episode 11 “Blues from Laurel Canyon”

Review:

The last few episodes of Californication have been really strong and “Blues from Laurel Canyon” is no different. I really like this episode because a lot of the issues that have affected all the characters over this season begin to come to a head here. Charlie actually surprises me on this episode. Marcy did find out about Daisy, but it’s because Charlie tells her. He then tells her he wants a divorce. I think it’s sad that the two are going to break up. They have had their problems but they still seem like their better off together than apart. I do think they need a break from one another, especially with Marcy’s coke problem, but a divorce seems so final, and if this is truly the end of Charlie and Marcy, than I think its kind of sad.

I think the fight that is started by Marcy, which results in a riot by almost all the females, is a bit ridiculous. The scene between Charlie and Marcy is serious, and it should not go from him wanting a divorce to a fight that the people at Ashby’s house find amusing. I am glad Hank broke it up with Ashby’s shotgun, that was a classic scene.

I am glad that Janie finally shows up to Ashby’s. However, as soon as she comes and Hank goes to get Ashby, I had a feeling about what would happen. The fact that they began playing “Behind Blue Eyes” makes it pretty obvious. I still think it is sad that Ashby dies. Although he is not a major character, the show makes me care about him.  I really like the talk that Hank and him have about the women they love. I really like the quote from Hank “there is no life without love. None worth having anyway.” It’s a great quote, and just seems like something a writer would say. Their talk is really passionate and to have Ashby die almost immediately after that seems almost cruel.

Aside from his heavy drug use, he was not a bad guy. I think the fact that Janie shows up after all the guest’s leave, foreshadows Ashby’s death. She’s too late to see him.  I think Janie represents death in a way as well. The first thing she says when she comes into Ashby’s house is “this place looks awful it looks like someone died here”. Hank tells her that “someone almost died but not tonight” there conversation foreshadows what immediately follows. Lew Ashby may or may not have died, if Janie had not shown up. His death corresponds with her showing up.

Overall, this is a great episode of Californication everything works. The story, the acting, and the music are all solid. I think this is my favorite episode because so much happens. All the stories that have been going on collide at Lew Ashby’s house. Charlie and Marcy’s drama comes to a head. Hank shows a more likable and wise side to his personality, and Ashby’s death scene is so powerful and sad that it makes me care about a character that unfortunately did not have enough time on the show.

5/5

5:00 p.m.

Viewed from: Dorm room

About nikhilisawesome

I'm 25, i'm a student at Brooklyn College, I love, movies, tv, video games, and the Lakers and Yankees.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Californication Season Two Episode 11 “Blues from Laurel Canyon”

  1. professor Dunphy says:

    Same comments.

    You’re a very insightful thinker, you see things, you react well to them.

    Well done on that end.

    The death of Ashby still bothers me but it’s necessary to Hank (and the show’s) evolution.

    I think it’s fascinating your emotional connection to these characters even though they are not real… 🙂

    There= their…

    There is direction… Hank is over there.

    Their is possession…. Hank tried to steal their shoes.

    They’re is they are… They’re always trying to blame Hank.

    Overall, well done on the work…

    I’ll have your grade ready shortly.

    All the best,

    PD

Leave a comment