Californication Wrap Up Review

Review:

Before I was assigned this blog assignment I had never seen Californication. I realize now I was missing out. I am glad I chose it as the show I was going to blog about. It’s a great show. It has intriguing characters and an interesting storylines. If I had to choose a favorite character, I would have to say Hank. Despite the fact that he is a jerk, for the majority of the two seasons, he still seems like he would be the easiest to relate to. He’s a real guy, with real flaws, there’s nothing fake about him. He’s also really smart, and I like that they made him a writer.

Despite the fact that he is very impulsive when it comes to having sex, he does actually think about things. Some of the best and smartest quotes come from Hank. In fact, most of the characters come to him for advice. He’s a leader. He’s the reason Charlie and Marcy get back together, he’s the reason Lew Ashby would have gotten the courage to talk to Janie, and he also is the reason Damien and Becca get back together. I’ve said it before, but for all the bad he has done, Hank is still capable of doing good. He’s also a very compassionate character when it comes to the ones he loves and cares about. I like how he told Karen in the season finale that “it’s always been about her” when referring to Becca.  It shows a very unselfish side to his personality.

All the characters on the show are good though, and they all have their moments where I felt like they were great. Mia is probably the best example of this. Mia is the definition of crazy. She responds with a smile to almost everything. She’s a sociopath, and her book will probably be a threat to Hank later on, but there is still something likable about her character. Despite her Lolita ways, there is still something very innocent about her. I cannot completely hate her, because older men have used her. There the adults, they should know right from wrong.

I think season one is good but season two is where the show really picks up. Some of my favorites moments from the show were learning that Mia was only sixteen and Hank’s reaction. I shared the same reaction as him. Seeing the flashbacks of how Hank and Karen became a couple was also great, and of course the heartbreaking death of Lew Ashby was a good scene too.

I am glad I was able to blog about this show; it was a lot of fun. I’d recommend this show to anyone who is looking for a show that has great acting and realistic characters.

5/5

About nikhilisawesome

I'm 25, i'm a student at Brooklyn College, I love, movies, tv, video games, and the Lakers and Yankees.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Californication Wrap Up Review

  1. professor Dunphy says:

    Really, The Lakers?

    Kidding.

    This is a solid post here… if anything i want more from you because you really do have so much to say…

    Hank is a fantastic character because he’s real! He’s flawed, he’s a bad father but he’s not someone who means to be… he has real problems.

    Hank is every male except for the over-indulgent sex drive… which is pretty impressive.

    Ah Mia… love Mia… she’s pretty incredible. When he finds out she’s 16, his face is pretty priceless 🙂

    Onto others.. so far, so good.

Leave a comment